6 Month Old Twins

Wow this has been my toughest month yet. The twins have gone through a sleep regression and I feel like I am going through the day in a fog. I’ve been mixing up appointments left and right due to this. The other day I drove 35 minutes out to Maple Grove with the twins for Leo’s helmet appointment and it was the wrong day. Yep, that happened. 

The twins wake up frequently in the night and I know it will go back to one feeding a night but WHEN? It’s been weeks now. I will say the last two nights were better. So maybe it’s already changing. Fingers crossed. Just two feedings each last night. One at 2am (Leo woke up first so I fed him, then I woke up Dylan to feed him once Leo was done). Then both of them again at 6:00am. I almost consider that last one to just be a morning feed. And no wake ups from Dylan in between feedings during the last two nights and that is huge! He normally fusses from 9pm to 12pm and requires a lot of pacifier-ing (I just made that word in to a verb). So maybe we’ve turned a corner! 

Along with all the sleep stuff, Ryan’s traveling has really picked up and he is gone for two to three days every week. The evenings are hard without him not only for help but also for companionship. I’ve been roping in a friend at least on Friday evenings to come provide me with some social conversation and be an extra set of hands. Shout outs to Flea, Sarah, Anne and Ashley and my sister-in-law Jackie.  Any of you in Minneapolis want to get in on the action let me know. It’s fun to catch up and have you hang with my babies and Ian. 

But anyways, this post is supposed to be about the twins, not about me! 😂

Dylan has been rolling back to front for a while now and Leo joined the rolling parade. Now when I have them on a blanket playing they roll all over it and sometimes onto each other. Ha ha. 

They also both love the bouncers. Leo recently started using them but Dylan’s been using them for awhile. It’s safe to say that Dylan’s favorite position is being upright! He just wants to go go go! Dylan has also started to scoot backwards and if I don’t keep an eye out he may scoot under the couch! 

Another first, I have just started to introduce food two days ago. I started with Greek yogurt. Dylan was loving it and leaning forward for more; Leo was very unsure about it. His face was priceless. We’ve also tried banana and that wasn’t a hit. We’ll keep introducing foods and let them choose what they want. 

The boys continue to grow and are almost ready to move into 9 month clothes even though they just turned 6 months. I don’t tandem nurse as much because they’re getting too big. It’s nice for the one on one time though and they’re such fast eaters (6 minutes each is their average) that it’s not a big deal. 

Also Leo got his helmet a few weeks ago and his head is starting to look more round already. Yay for round heads! 

I think that about covers it. 

Month 7 please be easy on me!

Author: twinsandatoddler

Stay at home mom to newborn twins and a toddler in Minneapolis, MN

3 thoughts on “6 Month Old Twins”

  1. Hang it there kath!! You’re doing great! Im sure they’ll be sleeping through the night in no time. I’m so happy you have friends there to keep you company when Ryan’s away!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

